Page Header

Explore CCMH

About Us

On March 12, 1957, 51 Carroll County residents met at Ruth’s restaurant with one primary goal in common. The goal was to establish a unified health care facility. On that date, Carroll County Memorial Hospital Association, a not for profit, non-tax supported corporation, was formed. 

The first hospital board was comprised of the following citizens: Baker Browning, President; Robert M. Marshall Jr., 1st Vice President; H.E. (Homer) Dunham, 2nd Vice President; Travis Smith, Secretary; Ralph T. Haynes, Treasurer; C.R. (Bob) Lock; Christian F. Stipp; Louis Uhrig; Edith Furry; Alvin Reimer; Alvin Kaiser; Jack Jones; Leroy Colliver; and Ted Chrystie.

On September 20, 1965, Jack Tindle was employed as administrator. Mr. Tindle served as administrator of CCMH until his retirement in September 1998. At that time, Mr. Tindle had served a total of 33 years as administrator. Jerry Dover was employed to fulfill the role as Administrator and Chief Executive Officer where he served in this role until 2012. Jeff Tindle, the son of Jack Tindle, was promoted to CEO in November 2011 and served until June 2021. Scott Thoreson was appointed CEO in June 2021 and is currently still serving the community of Carrollton.

CCMH is currently a 25 bed Critical Access Hospital with over 240 employees.

Through the years we have helped generation after generation reach better health. Our organization has been striving to serve the needs of our region since we were established. We here at Carroll County Memorial Hospital are loyal to our community and will continue to strive for excellence in healthcare. Being part of the community has been an important goal throughout the years, and with your help and loyalty we can continue to provide health services that you can depend on.