Page Header


ShareThis Increase Font Size Decrease Font Size

CCMH Receives Level IV Stroke Center Designation

January 06, 2018

(Contributed Image)

CARROLLTON, Mo. -- After an evaluation given by the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services (DHSS), Carroll County Memorial Hospital has been designated as a Level IV Stroke Center. 

Level IV Stroke Centers are a key entry point into the healthcare system. By providing patients in the rural community’s access to stabilizing interventions and preparing patients for rapid transfer to a higher level of care. DHSS designates hospitals after a thorough review by a team that consists of a Stroke Program coordinator, an Emergency Medicine physician, and one or two Neurologist(s)/Neuro-Interventionalist(s) all with experience in stroke management.

“It gives me such pride to be involved with an institution that is dedicated to the community and is willing to go the extra mile to be the best,” said Deborah Smith, RN, CCMH Director of Emergency Services. “Numerous members of the CCMH staff have worked hard to accomplish this goal to provide the standard of care for stroke patients.”

The initial review is a two-day process. The designation is valid for four years. CCMH is a Level IV Designated Stroke Center and will continue to strive to be the premiere healthcare center in the area.

“The designation allows the community to be assured that CCMH is upholding the standard of care needed to stabilize and transfer patients who are experiencing a stroke,” said Cindy Gilman, CCMH Director of Quality.